Android Users Should Check if Google Latitude is Tracking Your Location

by Rod on July 1, 2010 · 0 comments

by Rod on July 1, 2010 · 0 comments

Google Latitude

All Android phones come with a built-in LoJack feature called Google Latitude.  It is a rather easy feature to enable and not exactly obvious that you have enabled it.  Additionally, Google Latitude is not as easy to disable as it is to enable, but I suspect that is by design.  For those not aware Google Latitude is a location-aware mobile app that allows your mobile phone to track your location.  Your location data is sent to Google then overlayed on a Google Map.  Google Latitude is a powerful app for sharing location with friends but can be accidentally enabled with a single click on Android phones.

How to Know if Google Latitude is Enabled

Checking if Google Latitude is enabled on an Android phone is simple. First Launch Maps | Click Menu. If the button on the bottom center says Latitude your being tracked.  If the button says Join Latitude you are not being tracked. Just clicking the Latitude button enables the tracking, this assumes you have your GPS enabled.

How to Disable Google Latitude

To disable Google Latitude is simple.  If you verified above it is enabled click Latitude, then click menu | privacy.  From here you can decide on your desired Google Latitude setting, the default automatically updates your location.  Anything below automatic updates puts control back in your hands but if you have no plans to use Google Latitude select the bottom option Turn Off Latitude.

Personally, I have helped many friends and strangers in airports disable Google Latitude.  It is a shame this feature can be enable by accident so easily.  I know I have turned it on by mistake, but I also use Google Latitude as a tool with friends.  Privacy is a huge concern for many I think there are many great things about Google Latitude, but you need to ask should I automatically let something track my every move.

Be Sociable, Share!

Related Posts

    • None Found